About our Publication

The name of our Weekly Bulletin, PLATYTERA, was inspired by the Platytera icon of our Lady, the Mother of God which is depicted in the apse above the Holy Altar in every Orthodox Church.  This location is significant because it emphasizes Her role as the “heavenly ladder, whereby God has descended.”  Our Panaghia is the link between God and the faithful.
Translated from the Greek, Platytera means “more spacious than the Heavens,” as She contained the Uncontainable One.
Her arms are outstretched in perpetual prayer for the whole world.  Having brought forth the Son of God, She is our intercessor before our Lord.  As a loving and caring mother, She also welcomes us, Her children, to our Home, our Church of Panaghia, here in Island Park.
We hope you are inspired by Panaghia's presence in your lives and use the interactive features in this weekly communication to grow closer to Christ and our Panaghia. 

9/25/2022 - 1st Sunday of Luke

9/18/2022 - Sunday After Holy Cross

9/11/2022 - Sunday Before Holy Cross

9/4/2022 - 12th Sunday of Matthew

8/28/2022 - 11th Sunday of Matthew

8/21/2022 - 10th Sunday of Matthew

8/14/2022 - 9th Sunday of Matthew

8/7/2022 - 8th Sunday of Matthew

7/31/2022 - 7th Sunday of Matthew

7/24/2022 - 6th Sunday of Matthew

7/17/2022 - Sunday of the Holy Fathers

7/10/2022 - 4th Sunday of Matthew

7/3/2022 - 3rd Sunday of Matthew

6/26/2022 - 2nd Sunday of Matthew

6/19/2022 - The Sunday of All Saints

6/12/2022 - Holy Pentecost

6/5/2022 - Fathers of the 1st Council

5/29/2022 - Sunday of the Blind Man

5/22/2022 - Sunday of the Samaritan Woman

5/15/2022 - Sunday of the Paralytic

5/8/2022 - Sunday of The Myrrh Bearing Women

5/1/2022 - Thomas Sunday

4/24/2022 - Great and Holy Pascha

4/17/2022 - Palm Sunday

4/10/2022 - Sunday of St. Mary of Egypt

4/3/2022 - Sunday of St. John Climacus

3/27/2022 - Sunday of the Holy Cross

3/20/2022 - Sunday of St. Gregory Palamas

3/13/2022 - Sunday of Orthodoxy

3/6/2022 - Forgiveness Sunday

2/27/2022 - Meatfare Sunday

2/20/2022 - Sunday of the Prodigal Son

2/13/2022 - Sunday of the Publican and the Pharisee

2/6/2022 - Sunday of the Canaanite Women